Bicycling Capsule Wardrobe – the big finish!

And whew, I made it! I finished all 8 times before midnight, May 31st. I am proud of myself!

 

Here is my handsome bicycling partner in a merino wool shirt and stretch wool shorts (knickers? long shorts?) for Item 6.  Both patterns are from Thread Theory, the Strathcona Henley I color blocked for the shirt. The Jedediah pants I made into a long shorts in a stretch wool for bicycle commuting. The front slash pockets curve out a little bit, almost like slacks, but they are deep and with careful bar tack placement wallet or keys shouldn’t fall out.

stretch wool jedidiah shorts by bird and bicycle, pattern by thread theory

The back, you can just barely see my pocket topstitching. Maybe next time I will use some crazy reflective piping for some fun details for night cycling.

The 7th item are Jedediah denim shorts. A slight stretch to these, they came out perfect. I should have taken a picture of the insides, as they finish up so beautifully. Instead of following instructions and binding the waistbands from the inside, I simply folded under and tucked raw edges inside. It came out professional!

denim jedidiah shorts by bird and bicycle, pattern by thread theory

These are gorgeous shorts, and next time I may be brave and use a more obvious top stitching thread color. A nice red would go well with my red metal zipper and red bias tape tag on the back pocket.

denim jedidiah shorts by bird and bicycle, pattern by thread theory

Item 8 is the sailorish looking Paxson sweater! This is a wonderfully soft, stripe, fluffy sweat shirting. The black stripes are actually a dark denim pattern with lighter white flecks. Matching the stripes wasn’t so difficult, as the Seamwork Pattern Paxson is well designed. I will be making some slight adjustments for fit when I make a couple more  in a merino wool.

paxson sweater by bird and bicycle pattern from teamwork magazine

Well, I am happy to be done with my Sewing Seasonal Wardrobe from my Facebook sewalong group. Here is a brief recap:

 

Next up: kid’s summer and fall wardrobe!

7 thoughts on “Bicycling Capsule Wardrobe – the big finish!

  1. Very nice (both your hubby and the clothes). Where did you happen to find the stretch wool for the shorts? I have never seen wool fabric with enough stretch for cycling.

    • The stretch wool I think was 4% Lycra, 12% nylon, the rest wool. I think I purchased it from Cali Fabrics or Fabricmart. It’s not like true racing wear, but very comfortable for bike commuting. I stash too much fabric t I keep track of all purchases. Thank you for commenting!

      MaLora Ann

      >

Leave a Reply

