Valentine’s Day Love

I am very lucky to have an adorable little niece, born a few days after my own kid, who lives in Kansas with my sister and her family. I have just the one boy, so I get to sew all the adorable little girl clothes for her, my niece Nicole. Here is my sister Anndi and her adorable daughter dressing up recently.

She is a little doll, and I can’t wait to visit her soon!

Here is a little valentine’s love I whipped up just for her.

First is a Japanese linen and cotton crocheted lace bag to carry her cards back and forth to school in. When I was little, I had a denim bag with a heart stamp on it. I wanted Nicole to have something equally fun and sweet.

Bird and Bicycle japanese linen valentine's day bag

Next up, is a darling little dress. An Ottobre pattern of course, Busy Forest maybe? With the birch organics cotton I think? I am not sure. I made myself some leggings out of it as well. It has excellent stretch and recovery and washes like a dream.

Bird and Bicycle ottobre designs knit dress

Next is the special Valentine’s Day tunic in case she has a special party to attend. The Ottobre pattern is so sweet! The sleeves are in two parts with wonderful gathers to create this puffed effect. Strawberry Shortcake fabric is just precious. I kinda want to wear it myself.

Bird and Bicycle ottobre designs pattern

The tiny little binding on the cuffs and the front pocket are the sweetest details.

Bird and Bicycle ottobre designs pattern

I love the neck especially!

Bird and Bicycle sewing for little girls

The tunic, despite being made from a woven cotton, is actually quite roomy and not restrictive at all. I was quite pleased with the size of the cuffs and neckline, and here is the back detail. A washable bedazzled bow button.

Bird and Bicycle

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Love

Leave a Reply

