sewing for babies!

If I tell the truth, I wasn’t really into sewing until I started sewing for my husband and child. I find greater joy and better quality in my sewing when I sew for other people. It’s easier to measure them, and I like the appreciation I get that I can’t seem to give myself. Sewing for others is what I love to do! So here are the two tinydresses that I whipped up for Melizza of PinCushionTreats!

A whole lot of us Seattle area sewists got together and had a fun baby shower for the hilarious and joyful Melizza. I am hoping we can continue these social sewing events, even without a baby to celebrate!

First up is a pinafore wrap from the Imagine Gnats pattern. I love this pattern, and have made it quite a few times as gifts. This one is a lined in a yellow gingham (when I bought a bolt of it for my wedding!) and the top is japanese linen. I used giant pearl snaps instead of buttons, as I find them easier to put on a squiggly baby.

pinafore by bird and bicycle

The second dress I made is from an Ottobre magazine of course. It has adorable puffy sleeves with elastic shoulders, so it should just pull on an off fairly easily. It is their smallest size, 60cm, and I can’t wait to see it on her little baby to be! When I saw this cotton+steel lawn print, I instantly thought of Melizza. She wears these colors and would like the print. It was a breeze to sew, and came out very darling I think!

ottobre dress by bird and bicycle in cotton + steel lawn

I have been really loving sewing lately, and will hopefully post some fun projects I have been working on this past week soon! Fall is beautiful in Seattle, and the sun is warm. I am biking a ton and have some Duathlon Shorts by Fehr Trade cut and ready on my sewing table. I am off to get to it!

PS: Thanks Melizza for the pictures! Next time I need to remember to take pictures before I give the gifts!

Leave a Reply

