M6976

One of my favorite patterns, M6976, made the #1 spot for the Top Ten patterns of 2014. Thanks Gjeometry  for sharing this with me! I first made it in January of last year. I skipped a muslin and my flat pattern adjustments included an FBA, sway back, and a slight shoulder adjustment. I was really proud of my FBA and my initial alterations were spot on. I now have three in my closet, and haven’t changed a thing. This is absolutely a tried and true pattern, a TNT (I’m Dynamite!)

M6975 by bird and bicycle

McCalls 6796 is an easy make too, bonus. I like the length and the collar especially. I have another planned in purple but I am still looking for awesome buttons. Where do you guys buy buttons? My choices are greatly limited in Seattle.

M6975 by bird and bicycle

If you want to see the other Top Ten Patterns here they are: http://sewing.patternreview.com. I have also made and love the Deer & Doe Plaintain, but the wrap dress also catches my eye.  What were your favorite makes from 2014? Did you make anything on the Top Ten list?

M6975 by bird and bicycle

 

11 thoughts on “M6976

  1. I really like this top! I’m so glad you brought it to my attention. The Gabriola skirt is on my 2015 to make list.
    I buy buttons in antique and thrift shops. Etsy has some KILLER button shops but I can’t think of the names right now… I’d definitely check it out because you can find lots of unique handmade buttons and great vintage ones.

  2. I like your top & don’t mind it buttonless.
    Well I’ve made the Gabriola 🙂 and also the Simplicity 1463 top which I love & wear a lot.
    I’ve got the Lady Skater & the mock-wrap dress but haven’t got around to making them up. I’ve nearly made the mock-wrap dress several times but have been put off as it’s not a ‘real’ wrap dress – but I think I’m going to make it soon anyway!

  3. This looks great! I love the stripes and that cool collar just takes it all up a notch.
    I can’t believe that I’ve actually made 4 patterns on that list: Moneta, Plantain, the Dolman tops and the kimono tee – they are all great!

Leave a Reply

