Camas Blouse by Thread Theory

I absolutely love Thread Theory patterns.  Is it their Pacific Northwest style with rugged fabrics and layers, a mens wear built for endurance and stability? Or is it the classic, almost timeless, garments with modern slim fit style that makes me adore them? I feel like their patterns are wardrobe staples, easy to manipulate with design details and well constructed, with thorough instructions. Their sizing is really great too, and I love how they include finished garment measurements. This is so helpful when making clothes. I love all their menswear! We need more and better menswear fashions for the home tailor/sewist available. Indie fashion designers can be flexible in ways I think the Big4 can’t be, or choose not to be. So I was a bit surprised when they came out with a female* pattern, the Camas Blouse.

Bird and Bicycle Camas Blouse Thread Theory

The Camas Blouse is a blend of woven and knit fabrics, with a loose fit that can be elegant or casual. It’s not a style I would have thought would work for my body type (short, round) and yet maybe it does. The structure of the yoke and placket provide a more formal look, and fabric choice is what takes this garment from a casual walk around the park to an evening out on the town. For my first Camas (and yes, #spoileralert, I will be making more of them!) I used an acrylic blend knit for the body and a ponte for the yokes. The ponte is very thick and has less stretch than most, and the acrylic green and gold roses goes well with the goldenrod ponte. I was nervous it would look like a “granny sweater” especially after seeing all the other beautiful Camas blouses popping up here and here. Maybe it does look a bit old fashioned, but it is wonderfully comfortable and easy to wear.

Bird and Bicycle Camas Blouse Thread Theory

The Camas came together very fast, including my adjustments. I did a petite shoulder adjustment and blended from a 16 to an 18. I made the largest size, and it is very loose. The instructions give you an option of making functional buttons or a fake closure for a pull over blouse. Yes, absolutely, I stitched the sides together. I don’t think I wake up early enough to button up shirts. I kid you not. I need my clothes ultra easy to wear. I choose to not top stitch the placket closed as the instructions suggest, but instead stitched the inner placket to the seam allowance of the opposing side, and let the buttons hold the front piece closed. Yes! No gaps!

Bird and Bicycle Camas Blouse Thread Theory

I am still a bit unsure about the garment fitting well for my body type, but it seems ok. I typically wear things that accentuate my waist, fit and flare as they say. For my next Camas I plan to decrease the overall width, but increase the yokes in the shoulders. I also need to make more accurate gathers at the front and center back, to allow for all the right drape in the right places**. This blouse could come off as shapeless if not made with the right fabrics. I shopped my stash for this first make and will again for the second. I have a delicate rib knit in cream which would look and feel lovely for a more glamorous look.

Did I mention how comfortable this shirt is? The neckline is flirtatiously low without revealing anything, even running around with a toddler my body is well covered. The drape is lovely and comfy, and I can’t wait to make a few more!

Bird and Bicycle Camas Blouse Thread Theory

Check out the Camas Blouse by Thread Theory  if you haven’t, I think it’s a great top!

 

* Patterns really are male/female aren’t they? Or when they aren’t specific, it is specifically noted that they are “gender neutral.” I will have to ruminate on this more, as the sewing industry seems like it could help out with gender identity a bit more.

** I seriously, seriously love this song, this version. LOVE.

4 thoughts on “Camas Blouse by Thread Theory

  1. This looks fantastic! I really like the shape on you! Practical, girly, comfy and flattering. I often wonder about male/female patterns too, because I think a lot of patterns can work for both sexes. Didn’t Morgan make herself Jedediah pants, and didn’t they look great? I have been thinking that Grainline’s Archer pattern could work for men too, among others – something to think about anyway.

Leave a Reply

