Luxury for Toddlers?

I have ranted and raved and replicated this pattern so many times I figure I should be a bit more specific for those who are of mind to make it as well. The pattern I call “froggie” is from Ottobre Designs 1/2008. It looks like it is still available from their etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/83790408/ottobre-design-spring-issue-1-2008 I would snatch up that back issue. It has many great patterns in it indeed.

In a recent post I showcased the pants in a medium twill with a flannel lining. Here, I used up a stash rayon silk herringbone and omitted the pockets (from a lack of fabric more than desire.) I am quite pleased but really wonder, is this luxury fabric really useful for my toddler?

IMG_2233

He is a rough and tumble, bruised and bumbling little man. I think like any toddler, of any gender, he is always sitting in food or wading through puddles. But even small, young people like the feeling of soft, wonderful fabric on their skin right? We will see how these wash and wear. I suppose I should hand wash these but I just can’t!

IMG_2235

I do love the back yoke in the pattern, and had a heck of a time figuring out which way went up because I forgot to mark the top sides. Next time, I will use painters tape for sure.

IMG_2229

The waistband is a bit snug. I went with adjustable button hole elastic in the back waist of these, with fusible interfacing on the front waistband. I love the comfort of elastic and the look of a flat front, so this pattern is just wonderful. I am using up old buttons from my mother, from her mother, on all my random projects. I can’t be a collector, I like things to be in use. This swirled button was so perfect with the fabric, I wish I had more of them to add.

IMG_2224

The articulated knee details get lost in the fabric, but that’s ok. I still like them, and love the practice of more complex pants making.

IMG_2319

I do believe this will be a long favorite pattern of mine.  You can add a ton of pockets like the ones in my previous post, or none at all, and the options of an elastic gathered ankle or a straight leg, this pattern gives you choices! Do you have a favorite Ottobre pattern? I only have four of their magazines, one of each season, from varied years. Do tell me if you have a favorite you make and remake. I would love to convince myself to get more Ottobre!

I should also mention that this pattern in particular would be great for any kid in diapers, cloth or otherwise, as we are still working on potty training and this keeps everything all contained (i.e. no little baby bum visible when bending over) quite nicely. This is a rare feature in RTW clothes I have found.

IMG_2238

Do you find yourself buying or making or even dressing little people in luxurious fabrics? It’s something I admire, as I find it a risk not worth taking most of the time!

 

Love,

MaLora

6 thoughts on “Luxury for Toddlers?

  1. my kids loved luxury fabric: pure cotton, velvet, chiffons, satins, lace, rhinestone embellished: i did lots of detailed costuming. everything had to be lined, with very lightweight cotton lining or sheath lining or my oldest would not wear it. she’s 24 and wore a wool cape lined with flannel backed satin for halloween, i made it for her when she was 12. my 13 yo wore a satin cape lined with crushed velvet. when my son was 3 i bought him a pleather jacket. he smelled it, said ‘mommy it’s FAKE’ and walked away. to apologize, i made him leather pants and a vest, lined with satin. when he was 15, i made him a pants and a vest, the vest is backed and lined with 100% silk, he still wears it today, so yes, kids appreciate good fabric. besides, are you going to spend 8 hours hand smocking something that isn’t 100% cotton??? [baby outfits for my youngest] ps: i hand or machine wash everything. i hate dry cleaning.

Leave a Reply

