Jutlands – a new pattern from Thread Theory!

I loved being a tester for Thread Theory‘s newest pattern, Jutland. It is a great pair of relaxed pants that can be made casual fashion or ready for a hard day’s work. With so many style options,  I whipped up a pair for my partner for hiking and playtime this fall. Of course, having two men in my family, matching outfits was almost necessary!

IMG_1361

First, let’s talk about details. I used an army green mid weight twill with a green and cream plaid flannel for the lining. I choose a navy zipper for a fun play on color. I was fairly bummed to not have matching brass rivets, but have since found a good supply in Seattle at Tandy Leather. Why don’t more fabric stores carry better rivets? (Looking at you, Pacific Fabrics.) *Note: the color of the shirt and pants is more accurate in the outdoors photos.

IMG_2321

I love a good top stitch, and the matching stash thread was just dumb luck on my part.

IMG_2323

I really wish I had taken process pictures. The back pockets are spacious and the pattern has a choice of welt or patch, your choice. I went with a patch pocket, as I felt it continued the “rugged” look. When I make these up in a nylon for a more appropriate Seattle weather (re: RAINING ALL THE TIME) pants, I will choose welt pockets for class and cover.

These pants have a relaxed fit with some darts in back for a more fit waist. I think it’s flattering on almost any shape to have a bit more form around the waistline. Next time I will practice fancier pocket stitching!

IMG_2322

My husband swears the front french seamed pockets are perfect. I was surprised to see them so large when he put them on! I think this is very useful for not having items easily fall out. I bet they would be great on a bicycle! Or for shorts in summer at the beach! Or frisbee at a park! Or in our case, chasing our kid everywhere!

IMG_1420

These pants I made are heavy and fairly warm. Fully lined with flannel, you can see the weight and comfort they provide. I choose a reinforced knee and back cuff on the hem.

IMG_1415

I skipped the side cargo pockets as it was the preference of the wearer, but I think they would look sweet in a nylon based, water repellent hiking fabric.

IMG_1421

The outfit is complete with a brown wool jersey Thread Theory Strathcona Henley. I can’t stop making this shirt. Seriously.

IMG_1423

And my littler man, well he is so big now at 3!, is wearing a matching outfit. I used Ottobre patterns and the same fabrics. He got a wool tshirt and twill pants too. His pants are lined with the flannel as well, with a fun bellows pocket in front and large back pockets he can fill full of dandelions and rocks. Also, dandelion seeds to not easily come out in the wash. Ask me how I know.

IMG_1391

IMG_1399

I may have made them a size too large, a 104 in the Ottobre sizing. The elastic ankle hem just barely keeps it above the ground, so there is room to grow!

IMG_1404

I just love the matching outfits! They will be great for some fall hikes this November!

IMG_1405

OK dear readers, if you have stuck with me this far (and I applaud you if you have!) I have a FREE pdf Jutlands pattern to give away! All you have to do is comment by Tuesday Nov 4th (be sure to leave a good email address!) I will announce the winner that day, so in case you don’t win you can still get the pattern on sale! I think this pattern is a great asset to any person who makes men’s pants. This a versatile pattern, with so many options for form and function! Everything from lined heavy duty work pants, to lightweight hiking pants with waterproof fabrics, to a casual pant in a suiting fabric, to cargo shorts.

Well, comment to win the pattern! I am off to enjoy some halloween celebrations by which I mean, eating lots of chocolate.

 

Love,

MaLora

18 thoughts on “Jutlands – a new pattern from Thread Theory!

  1. Both your outfits turned out great! Both my husband and my sister’s husband are tall and thin so it would be great to have a good pants pattern for them. Thanks for the chance to win!

  2. Do you think it could be fitted to a woman very easily, or is there a woman’s version? I’m starting to want to make those ‘Olivia Dunham’ jeans.

  3. I’ve sewn my own fashions for decades and never ever thought of doing a men’s fashion. Your incredible job for wool shirt and twill pants just blew me away. I’d love a great tried and true pattern that will work for my household of men – all four1

  4. Matcing outfits!! So cute! Well done on the man sewing! I have some things picked out to sew for the men in my life, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. Too selfish! These pants look great!

  5. I really appreciate your review, I’d love to make up a pair for my husband and son. I’d need a lot more fabric than you though, my son (13years) is taller than my husband!

  6. I was just looking at this pattern this morning! The pants look great on both your men. I wish women’s pants fit that easy! I would love a chance to try the pattern out. Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

