Sewing for Bikes!

My family are bikers, bike riders that is! Not like every day cyclists, but often, usually with a kid, and we have big plans to take multiple bike camping adventures this summer. What better reason do I have to sew for than my favorite outside activity?

Let me share with you my first bike jersey! My husband looks smashing in his super bright bike jersey! (We met biking. He always had extra snacks when we road together. He obviously knew how to win me over!) I actually made this in November, but forgot about blogging about it as it was in use by my husband.

men's bike jersey handmade by bird and bicycle

My partner is 6’5 and so I made the largest size of the green pepper patterns men’s jersey (yes they have a ladies version too!). My only adjustment was to add 1.5″ to the length, which I did without actually measuring him as it was a surprise gift. Now I see he doesn’t need that much length, as the pattern includes the extra length needed for being in a riding position (hunched over the bars, that is.)

The sleeves I cut to the end of the fabric selvedge, so it has a nice finished edge without me having to do anything to it. I am so happy it turned out so well! Hemming spandex can be challenging. However it made the sleeves about 6″ longer than the short sleeve version of the pattern, which will make this jersey a bit too warm for August (our one summer month in Seattle.)

green pepper bike jersey pattern, hand made by bird and bicycle, men's bike jersey

For my next version I will use a sweat wicking fabric, reflective details, no pockets, and remove the added length. He is building up a Big Dummy cargo bike for his day to day rides and won’t need to carry anything on his person while he pedals soon. So jealous!

This month is #30daysofbiking and May is #biketoworkmonth! Will you be out on the bike? If you see a gent in this jersey, wave hello and tell him how good his jersey is for me would you?

I love this pattern and found it a cinch with my serger. I love the simple styling, the easy directions, and the choice of multiple fabrics. The zipper wasn’t too tricky to insert, making this the best pattern for bike clothes ever. Can anyone recommend awesome Lycra fabric for jerseys? I am always in the lookout for top-notch active wear fabrics. A wool with Lycra would be ideal too!

What do you like to wear while riding your bike?

10 thoughts on “Sewing for Bikes!

  1. beautiful job, very impressed!. i’ve sewn for years, everything from historic costumes to slipcovers to suits to wedding dresses-but no cycling gear, yet! unless you count my weddiing dress, which i wore during the ceremony and for the last 25 miles of a century ride. bought lavender spandex glitter lace and lycra blend lining at http://www.nickoftime.net they were very helpful. they have fabrics for skaters, can be used for cycling gear too.

  2. That’s amazing! Gosh you’re clever! My husband would be thrilled to bits if I made him a cycling jersey!! He’s a huge cyclist..like obsessively obsessed! He does triathlons but cycles to work and for his job as often as he can (he’s a community nurse 4 days a week)… Though generally wears his uniform for visits. Finding decent jerseys that don’t cost the earth are tricky in UK…and in his size..he’s a very trim and fit small size. You’re husband looks fantastic in this. I’ve NEVER thought of making a jersey but now… I have a normal ‘sit up and beg’ bike…with a basket and lots of fake flowers on the basket! I just wear my normal clothes…dresses! But I’m fair weather! Husband and I look polar opposites on our bikes! Kate x

    • What’s hilarious in my family is how I want to the racer biker and my husband wants to be the family cargo biker. I am still out of shape from having a baby and the career change of a stay at home parent, but I am slowly getting back into wanting to ride bikes for miles and miles. Have you seen the thread theory patterns? I want to make the henley tshirt for my husband to bike in in a nice wool knit. I think comfort is key to biking fashion!

      • No I’ve not seen those..should take a look..he’d love me to make him something and Henley T’s would be popular! I’ve fancied trying a road bike…having some speedy wheels!! it’s the lack of time..so many things all squashed in an evening/weekend!

  3. That turned out wonderfully well and he looks great in it.
    I started cycling to work earlier this week and will ride to work until the snow comes (it snowed again last night so I am walking today). I ride in my work clothes on my Batavus, since it is not a bike for overly-athletic exertions.
    As for wool/lycra fabric, I would send an email to The Fabric Store LA. I’ve ordered from them (they don’t actually have an online shop but they will mail swatches and fabric) and the wool jersey I received from them is lovely, tho’ still unsewed.
    Success to you!

Leave a Reply

